Leon County Florida

Leon County is located in Northwest Florida in the Panhandle bordering Georgia and Wakulla, Liberty, Gadsden and Jefferson Counties.

Leon County was established from a portion of Escambia County in 1824 and named for the Spanish explorer, Juan Ponce de Leon. On the second voyage of Columbus, Ponce de Leon sighted Florida in the spring of 1513 and named the land “Pascua Florida,” after the Feast of Flowers being held at that time. Present-day Leon County was the center of the Apalachee Indian culture when Hernando de Soto arrived in 1539.

Leon County Businesses & Related Content

Region: Northwest Florida Region

Metro Area: Tallahassee, Florida Metro Area

County Seat: Tallahassee

Localities in Leon County, FL

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.