Columbia County

Columbia County is located in North Central Florida bordering Georgia and Hamilton, Suwannee, Gilchrist, Alachua, Union and Baker Counties.

Columbia County was established in 1832 from St. Johns County and was named in honor of Christopher Columbus. The Spanish explorer Hernando De Soto founded a large village on the site of present-day Lake City.

Columbia County Florida Image Map
Population - 2000
Population - 2010
Population - 2015 Est
Land Area (sq mi)
Water Area (sq mi)
Total Area (sq mi)
Average Rainfall
Temperature - Average High
Temperature - Average Low

Columbia County School District is based in Lake City, Florida. The mission of Columbia County School District is to put great focus on educating students in an environment of trust and respect, with student success being the ultimate goal of teachers, the school board and parents. The Columbia County School District is accredited by the premier accreditation organization, AdvancEd.. Currently, there are 9 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, 3 high schools, and an alternative school that operate under the authority of the school district.

A true Florida gem, Falling Creek Falls features a 10-foot waterfall and flows under Falling Creek Road through a deep ravine before going underground. The park is a featured recreation site with picnic tables, a boardwalk to the falls, and a historic building. Visitors may enjoy hiking, picnicking, and wildlife viewing.

Ichetucknee Springs is a 2,669-acre State Park located in North Florida. Its main attraction are the 8 major crystalline springs. They join together to create the six-mile long Ichetucknee River, perfect for tubing, kayaking, and snorkeling! The park offers Paddling Adventures rentals, where guest can rent equipment and get access to the park's transportation services such as shuttle buses, ensuring they make the most out of their time at the park. The General Store offers both hot and cold dining options, including hamburgers, fries, sandwiches, and ice cream that guests can enjoy at the outdoor picnic tables located throughout the park. In addition to these attractions, the park is a safe haven to many wildlife species such as beaver, otter, gar, softshell turtle, wild turkey, wood duck, and limpkin. Guests may catch a glimpse of many of these critters as they explore any of the park's three nature trails, guiding visitors through lush forests, sandhill plains, and the towering longleaf pine environments preserved here. Whether you're a nature enthusiast or just looking for a way to cool off in the Florida heat, Ichetucknee Springs offers fun for guests of all interests and ages!

Olustee Battle Field Historic State Park is the site of Florida's largest Civil War battle that took place in 1864. Olustee Battle Field has a visitor center that contains historical information and artifacts about the war and the site. A reenactment is held every February at the park. Visitors can relax at the picnic pavillion or take a walk along a mile long trail that has signs describing the events of the battle.

River Rise Preserve State Park is surrounded by a wooded area and many tall trees. It's the perfect spot for equestrians and bicyclists looking to explore over 35 miles of trails. Anglers can enjoy their time fishing in part of the Santa Fe River. Then when the day is done, there is plenty of room on site for guests and their horses to camp overnight. There's even campfire circles, picnic pavilions, interpretive exhibits, and a bathhouse for your enjoyment and convenience. It is filled with breathtaking scenery just waiting to be discovered, and it is quite the natural and quiet getaway.

Website Listings

Columbia County has a host of activities to enjoy in its confines. Sports, community activities, and even a trip to a waterfall are all found in this great piece of Central Florida.


The Columbia County Public Library has 3 branches, two of which, including the main branch, are located in Lake City. The 3rd is located in Fort White.

Lake City Mall is one of the largest malls in North Florida. Come here to shop for just about anything you could want. When you're done shopping check out some of the many dining options here for dinner.

Distributing weekly newspaper to Lake City, Live Oak, Madison, Branford, Dowling Park, Jasper, Wellborn, White Springs, Old Town, Fanning Springs, Trenton, High Springs and Alachua City, Florida.