Florida's Legislative Branch of Government

The Legislative Branch of Government is the law making branch that affects how cities and counties operate. Composed of 2 houses:

The districts for both the Senate and the House of Representatives are based on population of residents and the areas are reappointed every 10 years to assure each Senate District and House District represents approximately the same number of residents.

Article III, Section 1 of the State Constitution states, "The legislative power of the state shall be vested in a legislature of the State of Florida, consisting of a senate composed of one senator elected from each senatorial district and a house of representatives composed of one member elected from each representative district."

The Legislature, consisting of both houses, meets each year in Tallahassee for a regular 60-day session that may be extended if necessary or may meet for a special session, in order to make and pass laws for the state of Florida. In order for a new law to be passed, a bill must pass both houses and not be vetoed by the governor.


"The Constitution of Florida asserts that "All political power is inherent in the people." Our House is made up of what we call citizen legislators. From educators to attorneys, small business owners to physicians, CPAs to farmers, we are parents, grandparents, retirees, students, military and law enforcement officers–we truly do represent you in our diverse backgrounds, experiences, and professional lives. Representing a group of just 157,000 people per district allows your elected member to maintain a close connection to their local community, ensuring voices are heard."


The Florida Senate is one-half of the Florida Legislature, which is the law-making branch of Florida government.  The Senate is composed of 40 members, each elected from single-member districts across the state.