Government, Agencies & LawsFlorida Government, Agencies & Laws

Florida’s Capital City is Tallahassee. Florida government has three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch is led by the governor and his cabinet, which must consist of an attorney general, a chief financial officer, and a commissioner of agriculture. The legislative branch consists of a senate of 40 members and a house of representatives of 120 members. The Judicial branch is made up of several courts of varying authority. The Supreme Court in the highest court.

The local government in Florida consists of Counties, Municipalities (Cities & Towns), School Districts and Special Districts. 

Branches of Government


State Departments & Agencies

Laws, Statutes & Constitution

Revenue & Taxes

Law Enforcement


Emergency Services

Aerospace & Defense

Public Records




Florida Back to School Amid Rising COVID Again - 2021
Back to School in Florida amid COVID Again 2021
Our polarized state divided again over mask wearing
Patti Jewel

The Florida court system is comprised of the Supreme Court, five district courts of appeal, 20 circuit courts and 67 county courts. Each layer of the Florida judicial system has a distinct role in providing justice to all Floridians.

"The Constitution of Florida asserts that "All political power is inherent in the people." Our House is made up of what we call citizen legislators. From educators to attorneys, small business owners to physicians, CPAs to farmers, we are parents, grandparents, retirees, students, military and law enforcement officers–we truly do represent you in our diverse backgrounds, experiences, and professional lives. Representing a group of just 157,000 people per district allows your elected member to maintain a close connection to their local community, ensuring voices are heard."


My Florida is the official Sunshine State Government site with 411 information to all state agencies and departments. 

The Florida Senate is one-half of the Florida Legislature, which is the law-making branch of Florida government.  The Senate is composed of 40 members, each elected from single-member districts across the state.