DeSoto County

DeSoto County is located in Central West Florida bordering Charlotte, Sarasota, Manatee, Hardee and Highlands Counties. 

DeSoto County was established from a portion of Manatee County in 1887 and named for Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto. Hernando was larger until 1921 when it was split and parts of the county was divided into other counties including Charlotte, Glades, Hardee and Highlands. 


DeSoto County Florida Image Map
Population - 2000
Population - 2010
Population - 2015 Est
Land Area (sq mi)
Water Area (sq mi)
Total Area (sq mi)
Average Rainfall
Temperature - Average High
Temperature - Average Low

Official Listings

DeSoto County School District is home to a small number of public schools. The district strives toward continuous improvement and establishing processes that will support its goals of effective learning leadership, and use of resources. As of recent, DeSoto Public Schools have earned accreditation from AdvancED proving they have meet their goals and continue to do so.

The Heartland Library Cooperative serves DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands, and Okeechobee Counties. Highlands county has three libraries in Avon Park, Lake Placid, and Sebring. The DeSoto County Library is located in Arcadia, the Glades County Library is located in Moore Haven, The Hardee County Library is located in Wauchula, and the Okeechobee County Library is located in Okeechobee.